Time to wake up

window

In light of my recent news, I’ve decided to share a poem with you this morning. If you’ve read the little description on my side bar, then you know that this is one of those “brave moments” of mine.

****

Only this Moment

Most mornings you are hot and ready for me,
but this morning,
you make me wait.

I lie eagerly in bed,
as you prepare yourself
in the kitchen,
listening to your soft whistling
that is growing louder, more determined.

I can smell your sweet, toasted skin,
perfected by slow, steady hours
in the sun,
and I wonder how you will dress for me,
in porcelain
or pottery.

Finally,
you enter my room,
and I tip you into my mouth,
your smooth, dark, malty goodness
sliding over my tongue,
waking me up
with each
and every
sip.

Mmm.
Now that’s a great cup of coffee.

****

If you haven’t already, pour yourself a (a)rousing cup of coffee and have a most wonderful Monday!

One thought on “Time to wake up

Leave a Reply

