The illustrious green bean casserole

casseroleI’m calling this Thanksgiving dish “illustrious” because with the recipe that I found–it’s about to be! I know, I know, green bean casserole is typically made with cream of mushroom soup that jiggles when you poke it and crunchy fried onions that come from a box, but it needn’t be. It can be delicious AND made with real food. Deb from Smitten Kitchen is showing me how with this recipe. I cooked most of it this evening in preparation for driving it (5 hours) to my parents’ house tomorrow, and the flavor already has me proud to share it with my family.

Wherever you are tomorrow, whatever you might be doing, I hope it is in the company of loving people, with food that warms and comforts and makes your heart and taste buds dance. Tomorrow and always.

2 thoughts on “The illustrious green bean casserole

  1. Ginny Kaczmarek

    Hope your Thanksgiving was wonderful! And I am going to try that recipe. I’ve always had a soft spot for the old version of green bean casserole–crunchy canned onions and all–but a healthy version would be welcome at my table!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

